• Board of Education

    Board of Education

    The Board of Education is a group of nine elected, four appointed and one student board members. Learn more about the members and the Board of Education here.
  • NEWS RELEASE: Board Chair Releases Statement on School Resource Officers

    June 12, 2020, UPPER MARLBORO, MD – Today, Prince George’s County Board of Education Chair Dr. Alvin Thornton released the following statement:

    “Yesterday evening, the Board of Education decided to table Board of Education agenda item 8.1 – Removal of School Resource Officers (SROs) from Prince George’s County Public Schools – until September 14, 2020. The Board concluded that additional time was needed to consider the proposal and secure additional input from the community.

    “In deciding to table the proposal, the Board of Education considered responses from the community and its elected representatives indicating support and opposition to the proposal to remove SROs from our school system.

    “I will refer the matter back to the Board’s Operations, Budget and Fiscal Affairs Committee to: (1) evaluate and assess the role of SROs in the school system and their alignment with PGCPS security services; (2) seek additional school administrator, staff, parent, student and community input regarding the use of SROs; and (3) work with the CEO to develop a report that will demonstrate how PGCPS budgets devoted to mental health, counselor, social services, special needs and related services are deployed strategically to achieved desired student development needs. 

    “I will ask the Board of Education to authorize me as Board Chair to immediately begin facilitating the Board’s engagement with State, County and municipal leaders to develop comprehensive recommendations for modifying the policing function in the community and the Prince George’s County Public Schools as the context in which SRO and school security services take place.”

    Download PDF of news release

    Board of Education Congratulates 2020 Graduates

     

    Contact Information

    Quicklinks

     

  • News Releases

  • Featured

  • Board of Education Members

  • plain blue banner
    Dr. Thornton

    Dr. Alvin Thornton

    Chair
    alvin.thornton@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Edward Burroughs

    Edward Burroughs III

    Vice Chair, District 8
    edward3.burroughs@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    David Murray

    David Murray

    District 1
    david.murray@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Thomas

    Joshua M. Thomas

    District 2
    joshua.thomas@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Boozer-Strother

    Pamela Boozer-Strother

    District 3
    pamela.boozerstrother@pgcps.org
    301 952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Swann

    Bryan Swann

    District 4
    bryan.swann@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Raaheela Ahmed

    Raaheela Ahmed

    District 5
    raaheela.ahmed@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Queen

    Belinda Queen

    District 6
    belinda.queen@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    K. Alexander Wallace

    K. Alexander Wallace

    District 7
    kalexander.wallace@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Ms. Williams

    Sonya Williams

    District 9
    sonya3.williams@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Monteiro

    D. Paul Monteiro, Jr.

    Appointed
    paul.monteiro@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Sandra D. Shephard

    Sandra D. Shephard

    Appointed
    sandra.shephard@pgcps.org
    301 952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Curtis Valentine

    Curtis Valentine, M.P.P.

    Appointed
    curtis.valentine@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    StaffMemberHeaderImage
    SMOB-NinahJackson

    Ninah Jackson

    Student Member of the Board
    ninah.jackson@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates